Hello world!

 

About Me

Hello world! My name is Marissa Phillips and I am a senior at the University of Oregon majoring in Communications with a concentration in Public Relations and a minor in Business. Originally from Marin County, California, I love to travel, exercise, spend time with friends and family, and meet new people as I continue to learn more about the world around me.

Throughout my life I have had a number of unique experiences that have shaped who I am today. In high school I was able to travel with a school group to Vietnam and Guatemala where we toured the countries, learned about their culture and history, and volunteered in the poorer areas at hospitals and orphanages.

Also, at 17, I participated in the Amigos de las Americas program where I spent a summer in a rural Mexican village teaching the local children about hygiene. Most recently, I was able to pursue my love of travel by studying abroad in Madrid, Spain last spring. I was able to tour the country as well as visiting England, France, Portugal, and Italy.

In addition to my travel experiences, I have done three different internships. I spent time doing a wide variety of tasks at Accolo, a Bay Area-based recruitment process outsourcing firm, the California Film Institute, and at the Sausalito Art Festival. Each of these internships taught me about the variety of existing work opportunities and helped me to realize what I may or may not want to do upon my graduation in June.

Why am I Blogging?

For my Advanced Public Relations course, my professor, Kelli Matthews, has asked us to create and maintain our own blog for the length of this quarter. In a world where technology is constantly evolving and social media is overpowering public relations, this assignment is the perfect way to familiarize myself with the world of blogging.

I belong to social networks like Facebook and Linkedin, but with my first blog I intend to share information about public relations from my position as a student, a soon-to-be college graduate, a former intern, and a woman who is constantly intrigued by the changing world of social media. 

My Goals:

-to share my views

-to participate in discussion through responses to other blogs

-to connect with those who share my interests.

Let’s Elaborate:

http://www.amigoslink.org/

http://www.accolo.com/

http://www.sausalitoartfestival.org/home.html

http://www.cafilm.org/

2 Comments »

  1. Jamie Kim said

    Hi Marissa,

    Best of luck with your blogging adventures! I will definitely be visiting your blog to read about your experiences as a public relations student. And thank you for your thoughtful comment on one of TGC’s posts regarding the misconception of public relations practitioners (thanks to characters like Samantha Jones). I also find it frustrating that one character in the media can leave such a lasting (and not entirely correct) presentation to the general population.

    I am personally really interested in art, so it was really exciting to read that you held internship positions with a film institute and art festival. Did you typically work on PR-related things during those internships?

    -Jamie

  2. marissahphillips said

    Jamie,

    Thank you so much for your support. In answer to your question, I did a variety of things at my internships, many of which were not PR-related. Yet, for the Sausalito Art Festival I was in contact with the press and with the organization’s hired PR professionals, which gave me some good exposure to PR in “the real world.” And for you who loves art: if you are ever in the Bay Area over Labor Day Weekend, definitely check out the festival. There is world-class art and music that shouldn’t be missed!

    -Marissa

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

