Cover Letters, Interviews, and Networking: Oh My!

As a senior in college, the question is always “what’s next?”

Those who aren’t asking you that question are trying to help you answer it. At family parties over my winter vacation, in a meeting with a counselor at the Career Center, or listening to a guest speaker at our AHPR meeting, I am flooded with information about the process. Now the task at hand is to organize it and utilize it.

My career counselor recently advised me to do research; find out about the different kinds of organizations that are out there. Where are they? What do they do? Who are their clients? How does their organization function? And of course, what opportunities might they have available?

So I headed to Google. I came up with dozens of names of PR organizations in the Bay Area. From there I was able to explore their websites and even better, encounter the company blogs. The blogs were great for better understanding the culture of the organization, which, as Paull Young ( Young PR) told our class the other day, will be a big part of your decision to work somewhere. 

Next, I turned to the wise words of author, mentor, and columnist Heather Huhman. In addition to the abundance of great advice on her website, she provides a list of links to many major PR firms that are looking to hire for certain positions.PR Company Links

The company website and blogs in combination with Huhman’s list of links have become a great starting point as I dive into the next stage of the process: networking. With my cover letter and resume all polished, I am armed and ready. 

I now plan to contact the different organizations, hoping that e-mails and phone calls will provide me with more specific information about the companies, their available opportunities, and any further access and insight I can gain. Wish me luck!

2 Comments »

  1. Jamie Kim said

    Hey Marrissa. I always laugh because job-hunting literally feels like a full-time job in itself. From what you’ve written, it looks like you’re on a great start. Do keep us up-to-date on your latest job hunts and feel free to stop by our TGC blog–we’ve had a lot of graduating seniors write tips and advice about the job-hunting process. I’m sure you might find something to help your job-hunt process as well.

    Best of luck!

  2. marissahphillips said

    Jamie,
    Thank you so much for the help and the tips. I really do enjoy the TGC blog and find it quite helpful!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

