In Times Like These, Don’t Forget to Stop and Smell the Flowers

We all know that the United States is not at one of its prouder moments. Each day we hear about the bad economy or the death toll in Iraq. Many Americans have become pessimistic and worried, all with good reason.

Yet I’ve always been a strong believer in thinking positively, which admittedly is difficult in times like these. While I am attempting to cut costs left and right, I am also trying to take advantage of certain opportunities that I didn’t before to try and ensure that in these difficult times I am not losing sight of the wonderful people, places, and things that surround me.

A few weekends ago, I went to the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art on the University of Oregon campus in Eugene. UOMA Site I feel badly saying that as a senior, this was my first visit. I took time to see each piece from the artifacts of the Forbidden City in China to an incredible painting of a house that a local seventh grader exhibited. It opened my eyes to the amount of talent and diversity that our peers all display in such unique ways.

I also was recently in Portland where I got to see the Portland Center Stage (PCS)production of “The Importance of Being Earnest.” Witty and hysterical, this Oscar Wilde play and its actors delighted the whole audience from beginning to end. With their perfected English accents and impeccable timing, these actors impressed me to no end.

These two experiences reminded me that there are some wonderful organizations out there that, despite their financial struggles, are working every day to show us the beauty and talent that exists around us.

All too often people lose sight of their surroundings. I admit that I can spend days obsessing and stressing over papers and in the process forget how lucky I am to have the opportunity to be learning whatever I’m learning. 

Our world is filled with talented people and incredible things, and in times like these, it’s important that we continue to support and appreciate the organizations that help us to see them.

1 Comment »

  1. Jamie Kim said

    I agree, Marissa. It can be easy to lose sight of the positive people, professionals and organizations that are constantly in our reach. I personally need to try to stay afloat more and seek out the “beauty” in my surroundings! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

